Magnus Lindberg - Musical Gesture and Dramaturgy

Out of stock
Sosa, Takemi
Magnus Lindberg - Musical Gesture and Dramaturgy in Aura and the Symphonic Triptych
Suomen Semiotiikan Seura
Acta Semiotica Fennica LIII
s.l. 2018, 274 pp.
The Finnish composer Magnus Lindberg (b. 1958) is one of the leading figures in the field of contemporary classical music. Curiously, despite the fascinating characteristics of Lindberg’s works and the several interesting subjects his music brings up, his works have not been widely researched. This study, "Magnus Lindberg: Musical Gesture and Dramaturgy in Aura and the Symphonic Triptych," examines Lindberg’s technical and aesthetic thinking by analyzing his significant works of the 1990s: Aura (1994) and the Symphonic Triptych, which includes Feria (1997), Cantigas (1997–99), and Parada (2001).

The main purpose of the study is to demonstrate the composer’s construction of gesture and dramaturgy from the viewpoint of musical dramaturgy. The analyses focus on Lindberg’s strategic design, which is called dramaturgical cohesion in narrative.
More Information
ISBN 978-951-51-4187-3
ISSN 1235-497X
Publisher Suomen Semiotiikan Seura
Sarja Acta Semiotica Fennica
Published (year) 2018
Cover Softcover
Type of Binding Softcover binding
Languages english
Disciplines Biographical Research, History, Music
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account
for scinece logo.for scinece logo.
Copyright © The Federation of Finnish Learned Societies